aether-cone-review

We’re listening to a lot more music this month. After literally months of disagreeing over our sound set up – R wanting his giant black-&-yellow speakers with corresponding cable spaghetti, me preferring something a little more invisible – Aether stepped in and offered us a lifeline in the form of their Cone music player to try.

aether-cone-review

I like that it’s minimal and thoughtfully designed and wireless.
Rory likes that you can ask it to play pretty much anything on the spot – even obscure Detroit 90’s techno – and it will. (I’m really less of a fan of that fact, to be honest… 😉 ) .
Basically, Cone is a ‘thinking’ music player. It learns what type of music you like so it can predict what you’ll want to hear and when. The more you use Cone, the better it gets at figuring this out. How magic is that?!

aether-cone-review

This playlist is a mix of old favourites, and some new suggestions via The Cone that I’m getting to know.

It feels odd now to listen to new music blind, without any preconceptions of who or what you’re being sold. I suppose that’s how it always was, back in the days of radio, but we’re so used to singers and bands as brands these days, that I almost feel like I could have an opinion on someone before hearing a single note. Is that just me?

It’s nice just to listen again.


What have you been listening to lately? Leave me some suggestions in the comments! (Preferably no more Detroit techno though …)

Thank you to Aether Cone for kindly sponsoring this post & providing The Cone. Views expressed are entirely my own!

13 Comments

  • sarah-louise kimmer

  • March 27, 2015

So lovely! We have a Sonos which we love but this is far more aesthetically pleasing! Currently loving The Pierces, Haim, London Grammer & Sia x

  • The Daydreamer

  • March 22, 2015

Pleasing to the eye, that’s undeniable, and possibly to the ears. It might be the perfect combination to carry around

  • Lydia

  • March 19, 2015

This is just what we’ve been looking for! Looks super.

  • Sara

  • March 18, 2015

It doesn’t know. I think there’s a way around this with a family account, but I’m too lazy/busy to have looked into it so far.
It works using Rdio, which is a bit like Spotify. A subscription comes free with the cone. More here http://www.rdio.com/home/en-gb/#pricing x

  • Sheona

  • March 18, 2015

Does it know if it’s you or R listening? How much does it cost to listen to all the different music? It sounds very interesting!

  • Sara

  • March 18, 2015

Ah, a Roberts radio has been on our list too! It’s pretty rare to find audio equipment that’s so attractive, isn’t it? x

  • Sara

  • March 18, 2015

Haha yes, this is an exceptionally cool bit of ‘stuff’ I have to admit! 🙂
Oh god, the mind reels! I’m going to have to repeat your search just to see what I led you to. Aether Cone! Search *Aether* Cone. Xxx

  • Sara

  • March 18, 2015

Good questions! Probably should have mentioned those things in the post – can you tell I’m more interested in the aesthetics than the technology? 😉
The sound quality is impressive! That’s coming from Rory, who DJs & is a total audiophile. It can connect to other cones in a room, so you can theoretically link them for more stereo sound, but once we actually tried it R stopped talking about wanting to do that.
It’s rechargable, & our first charge is still going, after about 6 hours of play. And it also comes in white! 😀

  • Katy at Apartment Apothecary

  • March 18, 2015

Eeeee! This could be the answer we have been searching for and might stop our constant arguments about how ugly huge speakers are. Two questions: 1) What is the sound quality like? 2) How is it powered? xx

  • Kelsey

  • March 18, 2015

Wow, this sounds fantastic! And I love the colours of it too. I bought Alex a Roberts radio for xmas which we love, but this may end up on my wishlist.

K.

  • Nicole

  • March 18, 2015

This looks amazing. I might take back my comment about not being jealous about “stuff” that I made the other day.

Also, googled “the cone” – was not expecting THAT over my first cup of tea of the day…

  • Sara

  • March 18, 2015

Yay! Great minds 🙂 Thanks M! xx

  • M

  • March 18, 2015

Absolutely love this!!! And the music selection : ) Ray LaMontagne is a favourite!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *